August 9, 2015

Standard

“O taste and see that the Lord is good.”
Psalms 34:8 (NRSV)

Tasting God? I need to get out of my head and into my senses to take that in.

God as food is a powerful and pointed metaphor. Here in the psalms is this command to taste, and throughout the Bible are found a multitude of suggestions of edible God. Edible goodness. Necessary nourishment. Life-sustaining meals in manna, magnificent feasts and more. Not to mention Jesus’ eternal offering of flesh and blood as bread and wine.

In her recent book Wearing God, writer, professor and priest Lauren Winner suggests that the Lord tastes like what I crave—what my body, spirit, soul need—at any given moment:

Cool, clean tap water quenching my thirst after a long walk.
Intimate soul sharing with my dear friend over coffee.
Buttered toast, satisfying in its crunchy, golden goodness.
Sweet, still silence as I sit steeping in centering prayer.
Many foods-on-a-stick for once-a-year indulgence at the Iowa State Fair.

My mouth is watering. I reflect on all that’s provided me, sustaining my health, well-being, and satisfied appetite. And I must conclude that the Lord is good.

Prayer:
Generous Provider, let me be grateful for the food on the table, the air I breathe, the abundance supporting my existence. Amen

Question:
What does the Lord taste like to me today?

Written by Robin Kline

The Bridge is a collaborative ministry by four Downtown Des Moines churches. The Bridge Meditations are part of the ministry of The Bridge which is working to enrich the lives of those working, living and visiting downtown Des Moines. Programs developed by The Bridge offer spiritual formation and development, professional counseling, holistic health and family support. The Connection Cafe is a Bridge ministry which provides a free mid-day meal five days per week. The Connection Cafe is located at The Cathedral Church of St. Paul (815 High Street) and is supported by many churches and civic organizations in its ministry. For more information, or to volunteer to help with The Bridge, The Connection Cafe or other Downtown Des Moines ministries contact Rob Hoover at 515-771-1481 or by email at theconnectioncafe@hotmail.com
Leave a Reply

