November 23, 2014

Standard

“For thus says the Lord God: I myself will search for my sheep, and will seek them out.”
Ezekiel 34: 11 NRSV

Skeptics discount repeating affirmations as an exercise in wishful thinking. I disagree. I always hear something I hadn’t noticed before or am nudged to think outside the spot in which I am grazing.

I notice the English word for “sheep” is both singular and plural. I may be away from the community and all its “flockiness,” but on God’s search list, it is me and them. Hope stirs.

Repeating the affirmation above reminds me that today I am not only chosen but also wanted for a team, project, or mission. I may wish to become a winning pitcher but the captain may have sought me out for shortstop or third base. Am I ok with that? What if the coach wants me for tennis or something else way out of my comfort zone? Wow!

Am I ready to play? The ball is back in my court.

Prayer:
Lord, help us choose to be chosen. Amen

Question:
What is God’s game plan for me this week?

Written by Nancy Alice Morton

The Bridge is a collaborative ministry by four Downtown Des Moines churches. The Bridge Meditations are part of the ministry of The Bridge which is working to enrich the lives of those working, living and visiting downtown Des Moines. Programs developed by The Bridge offer spiritual formation and development, professional counseling, holistic health and family support. The Connection Cafe is a Bridge ministry which provides a free mid-day meal five days per week. The Connection Cafe is located next to the YWCA on Grand Avenue and is supported by many churches and civic organizations in its ministry. For more information, or to volunteer to help with The Bridge, The Connection Cafe or other Downtown Des Moines ministries contact Rob Hoover at 515-771-1481 or by email at theconnectioncafe@hotmail.com
Leave a Reply

