March 10, 2013

Standard

“I will instruct you and teach you the way you should go; I will counsel you with my eye upon you.”
Psalm 32 (NRSV)

No longer a student in a classroom, I nonetheless am instructed by life around me.

Today, the virulent winter storm reminds me I am part of a mysterious, endless and eternal universe.

We are not in control.

Chronic health conditions teach me to love my body even if it cannot be “fixed.”

We heal through compassion.

The busyness of the day prompts me to acknowledge that many “responsibilities” are self-imposed.

We have the power to choose.

The silent piano in the corner of the living room invites me to do what enlivens my soul.

We were created to express joy.

A friend responding kindly to conflict leads me to emulate her behavior.

We find God through love.

Prayer:
Holy Teacher, may we view our lives as lessons you long for us to learn. Amen

Question:
How do I choose to look at my life today?

Written by Diane Glass

The Bridge is a collaborative ministry by four Downtown Des Moines churches. The Bridge Meditations are part of the ministry of The Bridge which is working to enrich the lives of those working, living and visiting downtown Des Moines. Programs developed by The Bridge offer spiritual formation and development, professional counseling, holistic health and family support. The Connection Cafe is a Bridge ministry which provides a free mid-day meal five days per week. The Connection Cafe is located next to the YWCA on Grand Avenue and is supported by many churches and civic organizations in its ministry. For more information, or to volunteer to help with The Bridge, The Connection Cafe or other Downtown Des Moines ministries contact Rob Hoover at 515-771-1481 or by email at theconnectioncafe@hotmail.com
Leave a Reply

