July 17, 2011

Standard

“Search me, O God, and know my heart; try me and know my anxious thoughts.”
Psalm 139: 23 (NASB)

For years I believed tough times taught me more than my life’s good times. God guided me, encouraging me to lean on him as I learned to trust in the midst of turmoil.

Facing setbacks, sorrows, and disappointments strengthened my faith, showed me what matters, and inspired me to grow.

Today’s verse challenges me to rethink my view. The psalmist asks God to search him, to determine how his actions and thoughts measure up in God’s eyes.

This bold action shakes me up. Am I brave enough to open myself to God, even when I feel good about my life?

God may direct my attention to ways I need to change or send me in unexpected directions. Do I have the courage to leave my comfort zone, trust God, and follow his lead?

Daring to do so deepens my spiritual journey. Every experience teaches me ways to improve my life.

Prayer:
Loving Creator, search our lives and guide us to new levels of spiritual maturity.  Amen

Question:
Do I open myself to God’s presence, turning over my thoughts and actions to his daily guidance?

Written by Ronda Armstrong

The Bridge is a collaborative ministry by four Downtown Des Moines churches. The Bridge Meditations are part of the ministry of The Bridge which is working to enrich the lives of those working, living and visiting downtown Des Moines. Programs developed by The Bridge offer spiritual formation and development, professional counseling, holistic health and family support. The Connection Cafe is a Bridge ministry which provides a free mid-day meal five days per week. The Connection Cafe is located next to the YWCA on Grand Avenue and is supported by many churches and civic organizations in its ministry. For more information, or to volunteer to help with The Bridge, The Connection Cafe or other Downtown Des Moines ministries contact Rob Hoover at 515-771-1481 or by email at theconnectioncafe@hotmail.com
Leave a Reply

