July 10, 2011

Standard

“So shall my word be that goes forth from my mouth; my word shall not return to me void, but shall do my will, achieving the end for which I sent it.”
Isaiah 55:11 (NAB)

A speaker came to talk to our company’s managers about being a good communicator. Chatting with this expert, I informed him I would be taking some photos during his presentation for our internal newsletter.

“I hope you can Photoshop me,” the speaker joked.

“I can’t work miracles,” I returned.

Meant as a quick, witty reply, my words achieved something else. I had the unpalatable taste of putting my foot in my mouth.

This sentence of Isaiah is among thousands of other words in the Old Testament filled with laws, wisdom and prophecy. It simply sums up the power of the Word of God.

The Word Isaiah refers to is Jesus. God’s Word is the Holy Spirit. It is the will of God to create life abundantly and with purpose.

Our words have power as well. A declaration of war. A letter to a lover. Gossip behind someone’s back. A request for forgiveness. These words achieve some end, destructive or constructive.

Prayer:
Lord, help us to speak words that fulfill your will. Amen

Question of the week:
What do I want my words to convey today?

Written by Eric Morse

The Bridge is a collaborative ministry by four Downtown Des Moines churches. The Bridge Meditations are part of the ministry of The Bridge which is working to enrich the lives of those working, living and visiting downtown Des Moines. Programs developed by The Bridge offer spiritual formation and development, professional counseling, holistic health and family support. The Connection Cafe is a Bridge ministry which provides a free mid-day meal five days per week. The Connection Cafe is located next to the YWCA on Grand Avenue and is supported by many churches and civic organizations in its ministry. For more information, or to volunteer to help with The Bridge, The Connection Cafe or other Downtown Des Moines ministries contact Rob Hoover at 515-771-1481 or by email at theconnectioncafe@hotmail.com
Leave a Reply

