July 25, 2010

Standard

“So I say to you, Ask, and it will be given you; search, and you will find; knock, and the door will be opened for you.”
Luke 11:9 (NRSV)

My mother found herself with a severe pain in her ear, lying in the cold emergency room. Since she was living by herself, and my brother and I lived far away, she was there alone.  As fear began to overtake her, she tried to remember promises from the Bible to give her strength.  When the doctor examined her, he said a blood clot had hit her auditory nerve; and she would not hear in that ear again.

When she phoned to relate her ordeal, she told me that she had remembered many Bible verses, but there was one she could not remember in its entirety.  I requested that she tell me what she could remember of the evasive passage.  She answered, “Seek and you will find; knock and the door shall be opened for you.”

I said, “Mother, the missing part is ‘Ask, and it will be given you.’  Have you asked?”  She said she had not.  I inquired whether she would be willing to pray with me on the phone.  She said she would, so I asked her to place her hand over her ear; and we prayed for God’s healing.

Mother held the phone to her deaf ear each morning for about six weeks after that to see if she could hear the dial tone.  She could not.  Then, one day she called me overjoyed.  She had heard the dial tone for the first time in her “deaf” ear.  During a follow up exam her doctor remarked to her, “My friend, I hope you know you have been walking on the water.”

Prayer:
God, Source of all healing, help us to be willing to ask for what we need.  Amen

Question:
What do you need to ask of God today?

Written by Connie Lee Whalen

Leave a Reply

