June 20, 2010

Standard

“The angel of the LORD came a second time, touched him, and said, “Get up and eat, otherwise the journey will be too much for you.”
1 Kings 19:7 (NRSV)

Each time a major crisis knocked me off my life path, an inner voice said, “Get up. Take nourishment for what’s ahead. ”

After being fired from a job in politics, I nursed a bruised ego and moped around for days. Then I called friends for lunch and consolation, read the newspaper classifieds and began to search for a new position.

After finalizing a divorce, I suffered for months the loneliness of long weekends.  Finally I reconnected with a woman friend and began the ritual of a Friday evening dinner and movie.

After reeling from a cancer diagnosis and surgery, I sought out the counsel of those who had traveled this same path before I surrendered to chemotherapy.

None of these unexpected boulders blocking my way moved of their own accord. Inspiration from the Spirit and concrete help from friends strengthened my trust in the new possibilities that lay beyond them.

Prayer:
Gentle Spirit, may we open to your nurturance as we face trauma and loss.  Amen

Question:
Is there an area in my life where I need to get up and eat?

Written by Diane Glass

Leave a Reply

