May 16, 2010

Standard

“The mountains melt like wax before the LORD, before the Lord of all the earth.”
Psalm 97:5 (NRSV)

In my house,
I am Father.

We have had our days of drama.  Some real, some phony.
Often playful.
Once or twice near-death.

The real or the near-death
we endure.
The playful
I love.

Commotion I don’t.

You, my child, I send away. Time-out.
Think on what I said.
Mend your ways.

You leave, unhappy.
I hide my patience.

Then you are back,
too soon.
But how can I be angry?
I love your eager eyes, downcast from understanding,
uplifted with insight.

Coming to me was your idea.

“I’m sorry, Daddy,” you say.

Little moments.
More intimate
than children suppose.

I can’t reach to hug you,
just yet.

In silence, then,
with two or three breaths,
we pass our peace:

The high hilltops
where you played,
they spellbind you.

But now you smile
at broken spells
and I smile
at your belief
that
I melt mountains.

Prayer:
Lord, thank you for love, built from odd bits of faith and honest scraps of trust. Amen

Question:
What noisy drama in my life needs melting?

Written by Bob Krause

Leave a Reply

